Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links


The Burren

Summary of courses for prospective students

The School of Natural Sciences offers single honor four-year undergraduate degree courses (known as Moderatorships) in Geography, Geology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Plant Sciences and Zoology. Entry to all these degree courses (except Earth Sciences) is through the Science (common entry) programme. Students do not specialise in their chosen degree subject until the start of their third year (called the Junior Sophister year). During their first two years of study (known as the Junior Freshman and Senior Freshman years) students pick from a choice of modules in biology, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, and physics. Most modules are of 5 or 10 credits in size and a total value of 60 credits is taken in one year. Students opting for the Earth Sciences degree follow a similar route, but the modules in the freshman years are fully prescribed.

The School also contributes to joint honors degree courses. Students may take Geography with a second subject (not from Science) either through the Two-Subject Moderatorship (TSM) programme or through the special combination, Political Science and Geography.

Course details for existing students

For full details of each degree course click the links below:


Top of Page

Last updated 14 July 2017 Natural Sciences (Email).