Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Gender Equality

Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team


Celia Holland

Celia Holland - Chair

Celia Holland is a Professor in Zoology, specialising in Parasitology. She is an Aurora Mentor and a former Head of School. She is a member of the School Executive Leadership team and has a strong track record of advocating for gender equality across the school.


Mark Kavanagh

Mark Kavanagh - Co-chair

Mark is a Senior Technical Officer based in the Centre for the Environment. With the exception of a three-year spell working for a consultant analytical company, he has been happily working in Trinity since 1998. He is a new parent with a deep understanding of college systems and supports and enjoys interacting with a variety of students and staff from across the School and further afield.

Anthea Cameron

Anthea Cameron is the School Finance Manager in the School of Natural Sciences. She joined Trinity College in 2000 as Executive Officer to Centre for Microscopy and Analysis but has been in her current role since Feb 2016. Anthea is working part-time whilst being a Mum to 3 children. She strives to maintain a good work-life balance and to ensure equal gender opportunities.

Cian O'Callaghan

Dr Cian O'Callaghan

Cian O'Callaghan is an Assistant Professor in Geography who joined Trinity in 2016. He is a full-time working father and was the first recipient of the new paternal leave supports.

Trevor Hodkinson

Prof. Trevor Hodkinson

Trevor Hodkinson is a professor in botany. He is a college tutor and a former Head of Botany. He is a full-time working father who leads an active research group and engages widely with Industry and Society.

Susan Murphy

Dr Susan Murphy

Susan Murphy is an Assistant Professor in Development Practice and is the programme coordinator for the Trinity-UCD Masters in Development Practice. She joined Trinity in 2012 with twenty years of management and professional experience, both within the University and also in Industry. She is married with three children and is an Aurora Mentor, College Tutor and FEMS representative on the University Council.

Jane Stout

Professor Jane Stout

Jane Stout is a Professor in Botany, specialising in ecology. She is the Chair of the Irish Forum on Natural Capital and one of the leaders of the All-Ireland Pollinator Plan. She is a full-time working mother who leads and active research group and engages widely with Government, Industry and Society.

Ruth Kelly

Dr Ruth Kelly

Ruth Kelly is a postdoctoral fellow in zoology, specialising in conservation biology. She is an advocate of diversity and equality in science and is a member of the “500 women scientists” grassroots initiative for gender equality in STEM.


Micha Ruhl

Dr Micha Ruhl

Micha Ruhl is an Assistant Professor in geology, specialising in sedimentology. He strives to maintain a work-life balance while collaborating with researchers across the School of Natural Sciences, Industry and Government.



Andrew Mooney

Mr Andrew Mooney

Andrew Mooney is a PhD research student in the Department of Zoology. He is supervised by Prof Yvonne Buckley and Dr Kevin Healy at TCD and Dr Dalia Conde at the University of Southern Denmark. He is a proponent of equal representation in STEM at all levels and is a member of the BES LGBT+ group.


We are grateful for the help, input, support and encouragement from our colleagues at WiSER: Professor Eileen Drew and Claire Marshall.

Previous Team Members

The team is indebted to our previous members Dr David Bourke, Dr Mary Bourke, Dr David Chew, Dr Natalie Cooper, Dr Catherine Coxon, Dr Laura Devaney, Dr Anthea Lacchia, Frances Leogue, Dr Shane McGuinness, Professor John Parnell, Dr Teresa Ubide, Dr Alwynne McGeever, Dr Catherine Rose, Stephen Coakley, Dr Andrew Jackson and Dr Jesko Zimmermann for their help in earlier stages of the INTEGER and Athena SWAN process.