Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Female Researchers Honoured for Contribution to Science including staff from the School of Natural Sciences

February 2016

Eight of Trinity's female researchers were recently honoured at a celebration of ‘Women in Science’, hosted by President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins and Mrs Sabina Higgins, in Áras an Uachtaráin. The event celebrated the leading role that women play in scientific research and industry.

The Trinity researchers were:

  • Assistant Professor in Physics, and Director of the Trinity Walton Club, Arlene O'Neill
  • Professor of Comparative Immunology, Cliona O'Farrelly
  • Professsor of Mathematics, Sinead Ryan
  • Professor of Statistics, and Director of WiSER, Eileen Drew
  • Professor of Botany, and Director or Research in the School of Natural Sciences, Jane Stout
  • Professor of Computer Science, Siobhán Clarke
  • Professor of Geography, Anna Davies
  • Professor of Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering, Sarah McCormack
  • Representation was drawn from the universities and institutes of technology in Ireland, as well as a small number from scientific state agencies and bodies. There was also a group of competitors and organisers from the BT Young Scientists Competition.
  • Speaking at the event, President Higgins said: "The contribution of women in science is all the more valuable as we work to locate science within a paradigm of sustainability. That is emphasised in the challenges set to us by issues such as climate change, global hunger and environmental degradation."

    “As experts in their fields, award winners, holders of distinguished Chairs and Professorships, esteemed researchers, writers and lecturers they are breaking new ground and paving the way for new generations of women who will also wish to use their talent and creativity to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and maths, and play their unique role in crafting a better world. I wish each and every one of them success in their fields of expertise, in their future careers and in their capacities as inspirational role models for the scientists of the future.”Pictured left to right: Professors Arlene O'Neill, Cliona O'Farrelly, Sinead Ryan, Eileen Drew, Jane Stout, Siobhán Clarke, and Anna Davies. Not pictured but honoured at the ceremony was Professor Sarah McCormack.

School researchers in Aras an Uachtaran